E-Edition | Shopper | Observer/Advocate

News and Sports from Windom, MN and surrounding areas | Windom, MN

weather sponsored by


Advanced Search
search sponsored by


Road Construction

The Dish
Advertising
Legals
Help Wanted
Auctions
Area Churches
Area Sports Schedule
Flooding
Windom Schools
Social Scene
Weather
Birth Announcement Submission
Community Calendar
Cottonwood County Sheriff




home : columns : icitizen
August 17, 2019


7/3/2019 3:17:00 PM
Minnesota's New Hands-Free Law

Do you hate it when you are driving and you can clearly tell that someone is on their cell phone?
Well, a new law in Minnesota is designed to help eliminate these distractions and it's called the Hands-Free law. I will be detailing some of the information associated with this law directly from the Minnesota Department of Public Safety website. If you wish to view more information about the law than what I detail here, just go to dps.mn.gov/divisions/ots/hands-free/pages/default.
What can I do under the new law?
The new law allows a driver to use their cell phone to make calls, text, listen to music or podcasts and get directions, but only by voice commands or single-touch activation without holding the phone.
What can't I do with my phone under the new law?
You may not hold your phone in your hand. Also, a driver may not use their phone at any time for video calling, video live-streaming, Snapchat, gaming, looking at video or photos stored on the phone, using non-navigation apps, reading texts and scrolling or typing on the phone.
Can I ever hold my phone?
Yes. Hand-held phone use is allowed to obtain emergency assistance, if there is an immediate threat to life and safety, or when in an authorized emergency vehicle while performing official duties
Can I use a GPS navigation device?
Yes. GPS and other systems that can only be used for navigation are exempt from the Hands-Free law. In-car screens and systems are also exempt.
Does the new Hands-Free law address smart watches?
Drivers can use them as a conventional watch to check time, but smart watches are considered an electronic communications device under the Hands-Free law. That means the device has the same restrictions as a cell phone.
Are there penalties?
Yes. The first ticket is $50, plus court fees, and the second and later tickets are $275, plus court fees.
We currently are experimenting with different methods of hands-free solutions ourselves to see what we think would work well with people's vehicles, but for most it may be a trial and error scenario.
If you have any questions about the new law, please refer to the aforementioned website, or call us and we can try to answer your questions.





iCitien
ObituariesClassifiedsOpinionColumnsThe DishLegalsContact UsHelp WantedAuctionsLife
Birth, Engagement & Wedding Announcement Forms | Area Classified Ads | Current News | Life

 

Copyright © 2017 Citizen Publishing Co. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. 
P.O. Box 309, Windom, MN 56101 507-831-3455

 


Software © 1998-2019 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved