62.8 F
Wednesday, June 19, 2024

Area students to compete in Section 3A speech Saturday

A total of 32 students from Cottonwood County will be competing in the Section 3A Speech Tournament at Southwest Minnesota State University in Marshall on Saturday.

The top three speakers in each of the 13 categories qualifies for the Class A State Speech Tournament Saturday, April 23, at Eastview High School.

Competing for Windom at Saturday’s section tournament are sub-section champions Makenna McNamara in original oratory, Andres Rodriguez Cerda and Lauren Kelly in duo interpretation, Chloe Shamp in poetry and Harriet Lohse in drama. Also competing at the section meet from Windom are: duos Eric Cendejas Caballero and Alex Garcia, Ella Wilde and Vanessa Garcia, and Valerie Schutz and Emily Elston; Nyah Visker in poetry; Ava Van Norman and Maddie Alvstad in drama; Kaylan Donchez and Ashlyn Altman in original oratory; Virginia Jensen and Kaycee Hunter in creative expression; ZadieAnne Johnson in prose; Gabriella Symens-Otero in extemporaneous reading; Ella Smith in informative speaking; and Perla Perez Rios in humorous.

Competing at the tournament from Westbrook-Walnut Grove/Red Rock Central are four north sub-section champions: Timothy Kleeberger in humorous, Elizabeth Wiggins in drama, Jaden Scholl in poetry and Lexi Weber in extemporaneous reading. Also advancing to Saturday’s section meet from WWG/RRC are Ryker Duroe and Evelyn Rentschler in original oratory, Elijah Merrick in discussion, Elena Yang in informative and Caitlin Mershon in storytelling.

Mt. Lake’s lone representative in the section meet is senior Ben Bartsch in extemporaneous reading.

Watch the Citizen and windomnews.com for updates on who earned medals and will advance to the state tournament.

Watch www.windomnews.com for regular weekday updates at 8 a.m./noon/5 p.m., plus BREAKING stories at other times during the day and on weekends. Follow CoCoCitizen@CitPub on Twitter.

- Advertisment -